Chicken and Cabbage Crockpot Stew


Chicken and Cabbage Crock-pot Stew!! Yumm!!

I love my crockpot!! Like FREEKIN LOVE THIS THING! I am great at just throwing some things in there, turning it on low and letting it cook for hours. I have made BBQ chicken and ribs, all sorts of dips, stews, tons of stuff. Well Saturday afternoon I could already feel that I wasn’t going to be in the mood to cook dinner, so I decided to crockpot it!! Here is what went down…

  • 3 Large (I used bone in) split Chicken breasts
  • 1 whole small cabbage, diced
  • 1/2 a large red onion
  • 2 cloves of garlic, diced
  • 6 cups of water

I seasoned the chicken breasts with salt, pepper and a little Cajun spice (you could use whatever you like though), and then seared both sides in a  hot cast iron skillet. While those were cooking, I turned my crockpot on high and added the diced cabbage, onion, garlic and water. I also seasoned that with salt and pepper just to make sure everything had flavor. Once the chicken was cooked, I added it whole (still on the bone) to the crockpot, and turned it on low. I let everything simmer together for about 5 hours total. Once everything had cooked, I took out and de-boned the chicken. Making sure to get all the small bones just so Jp didn’t accidentally get one, and added it back in. This was totally delish, and even better the next day!! It also freezes well, in a Ziploc bag. Then when you are ready to eat, you can just put the bag in a pot of simmering water to heat it back up!! How easy is that!! As always if you try it out, let me know what you think!!

3 thoughts on “Chicken and Cabbage Crockpot Stew

  1. Pingback: Soup Recipes for Any Night of the Year - Coupons and Freebies in Texas

Leave Your Comment

