Tex-Mex Cornbread Casserole


Last night I got a wild hair to try out a new recipe. I had a pound of ground beef in the freezer that I needed to use before my store run this week, so I decided to put together something. I checked the pantry and came across some cornbread mix, canned corn, green beans, and enchilada sauce. I was thinking about different ways to serve them seperatley, then it hit me. Throw it all in one pan and top with enchilada sauce!! It actually turned out fantastic, and the Hubby and Little Man LOVED it. It’s no secret that Jp doesn’t eat many veggies but he wolfed this down and was really none the wiser!!  Yay. Mom-1 Jp-0! Here’s what I did, but you could really put anything you like in it. Ground turkey would be great to sub for the ground beef, for a healthier option.

 

You will need:

  • 16oz cornbread mix
  • 1 can of corn
  • 1 can of green beans
  • 1 can mild enchilada sauce
  • 2 oz pepper jack cheese
  • 1lb ground beef
  • 2 tsp chili powder (optional, we like the spice though!!)
  • 1 package taco seasoning

Preheat your oven to temprature specified on cornbread mix. Brown ground beef with chili powder and taco seasoning. While beef is cooking, mix the cornbread in a bowl and set aside. Drain corn and green beans and add to cornbread, mixing thoroughly. When beef is cooked, drain and add to cornbread mixture. Pour into an 8×8 greased baking dish and bake for 25-30 minutes, or until golden brown.

 image

Enchilada Sauce

In a pan over medium heat add your can of enchilada sauce, and the 2 ouces of pepper jack cheese. Stir with a wisk as cheese starts to melt. I did this last minute so it was piping hot when the casserole came out of the oven.

 image

Seriously Jp went nuts for this, and that always makes me happy. Hubbs said that it should become monthly regular meal. I will definitley be playing around with this one!! If you try it out let me know what you think!!!

Leave Your Comment

